Culture > Play

These winners of Toyota Gazoo Racing GT Cup PH 2023 will represent us in the Asia Finals

Watch them battle it out in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

These three racers will be raising our flag at the GR GT Cup Asia Finals in Malaysia. PHOTO FROM TOYOTA

The Toyota Gazoo Racing Gran Turismo Cup Philippines has been a staple of Toyota Motor Philippines’ festivities since it made its debut during the pandemic back in July 2020.

Since then, the stakes have been raised—from cash prizes to a spot in the TGR Vios Cup Autocross competition, showing just how seriously Toyota has been taking this. For the 2023 edition of the competition, the top three winners from the Sporting Class will represent the country in the TGR GT Cup 2023 Asia Finals in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

With the National Finals held last September 6, three victors from the Sporting Class emerged: Russel Reyes (champion), Matthew Ang (second place), and Luis Moreno (third place).

The winners of the Junior Class. PHOTO FROM TOYOTA
The winners of the Promotional Class. PHOTO FROM TOYOTA

As for the Junior Class, David Enzo Ison came in first, Russo Gabriel Formoso finished second, and Vito Manas wound up in third. Finally, the Promotional Class saw Stanley Theodore Golez as the champion, with Benedict Salido following in second and Jan Rene Aldiosa in third.

The virtual races took place at the Trial Mountain circuit with the GR86, Sardegna-Windmills with the GR Yaris RZ, and Mount Panorama with the GR Supra.

Each racer displayed his own skills and prowess during the National Finals. SCREENSHOTS FROM TOYOTA

Russel Reyes showed incredible consistency across the championship, winning two out of three rounds (Trial Mountain and Mount Panorama). He placed second in last year’s National Finals, earning a spot in last year’s Asia Finals as one of our representatives and finishing sixth.

Matthew Ang is a newcomer to the Sporting Class, finishing in second place in the Promotional Class last year and also finishing second in this year’s National Finals.

Meanwhile, third-placer Luis Moreno is participating in the Asia Finals for the first time. He was 2021’s champion for the TGR GT Cup Philippines.

Let’s show some love and support to our fellow countrymen. PHOTO BY SAM SURLA

You will be able to watch the three e-racers battle it out with other Asian countries on September 24 (5pm) via Toyota Gazoo Racing Philippines’ Facebook page. The winners of the Asia Finals will naturally represent Asia for the TGR GT Cup Global Finals, so here’s hoping we get Filipino talent on the global stage.

Sam Surla

Sam is the youngest member of our editorial team. And he is our managing editor (believe it or not). He specializes in photography and videography, but he also happens to like writing about cars a lot.