Industry > Bulletin

Objective journalists win at 17th Henry Ford Awards

Excluding us, but not because we’re not objective

Ford Philippines honors local motoring journalism's best content producers. PHOTO FROM FORD PHILIPPINES

By now, you’re probably familiar with the Henry Ford Awards, an annual event honoring the best work in Philippine automotive journalism. Now in its 17th year, the HFA has announced its latest batch of winners.

We use the word “objective” because we want to clearly separate the real journalists from those who profess to be among us but who actually accept payment to subtly endorse brands, products and even politicians. In this age of fake news and malicious disinformation, we strongly feel that legit members of the press need to speak out against all the fakery that’s taking place in the world.

Anyway, a sound bite from Ford Philippines managing director Bertrand Lessard is in order: “The HFA is our way of recognizing the hard work of the automotive media in helping boost the industry. We are confident that the winners will serve as an inspiration to the next generation of automotive journalists with their passion and dedication to their craft.”

Here is the list of winners at the 17th Henry Ford Awards. VISOR isn’t included here, and not because we’re not objective. We had no entries for 2017, having launched this website only on November 6, 2017. We probably still won’t be included next year, but this is just so we’re clear.


  • Automotive Print Story – Niky Tamayo (Top Gear Philippines)
  • Automotive Column – Patrick Everett Tadeo (Carmudi Philippines)
  • Automotive Online Story – Froilan Victor Bacungan Jr. (CNN Philippines)
  • Automotive Print Lifestyle Story – Eric Tipan (Carmudi Philippines)
  • Automotive Online Lifestyle Story – Paul John Caña (Forbes Philippines)
  • Published Photograph – Jerel Fajardo (C!)
  • Automotive Road Safety Story – Iñigo Roces (AutoIndustriya)
  • Automotive Green Story – Kristoffer Lim (Autocar Philippines)
  • Smart Technology Story – Vince Pornelos (AutoIndustriya)
  • Automotive Video – Mark Francis Jesalva (Top Gear Philippines)
  • Automotive Industry Story – Niky Tamayo (Top Gear Philippines)


  • Ford Story – Tracy Carpena (Top Gear Philippines)
  • Ford Video – Caco Tirona (AutoDeal)
  • Published Ford Photograph – Jerel Fajardo (C!)
  • Ford ‘Go Further’ Story – Ronald de los Reyes (Business Mirror)
  • Best Broadsheet Motoring Section – Philippine Daily Inquirer

Vernon B. Sarne

Vernon is the founder and editor-in-chief of VISOR. He has been an automotive journalist since July 1995. He became one by serendipity, walking into the office of a small publishing company and applying for a position he had no idea was for a local car magazine. God has watched over him throughout his humble journey. He writes the ‘Spoiler’ column.