Wisdom > Trivia

The casual Formula 1 fan’s guide to the 2018 season

Everything you need to know to better appreciate the race series

Another year, another exciting F1 season (hopefully). PHOTO FROM RED BULL

The last time I religiously watched the entire Formula 1 season was in 2004. Michael Schumacher won his last drivers’ championship that year. Pursuing an engineering degree in college meant I really had no more time watching races, especially those that were held in the wee hours of our time zone. The move from the screaming V10 engines to the smaller V8 powerplants and then to the turbo V6 motors didn’t sit well with me either. But in the hopes of rediscovering my interest in the sport, I’ve put together a simple guide to the 2018 season, which officially kicks off today at Albert Park in Melbourne, Australia.

Here are the basic things you need to know about the 2018 F1 season if you intend to follow the series this year.

The cars have been stripped of T-wings and shark fins. PHOTO FROM MCLAREN

1. No more T-wings and shark fins. Previously a loophole in the 2017 rules, these gawky extensions and bits of aero on the engine covers are now outlawed. The cars currently sport a swept forward fin in this area.

We bet drivers aren't amused. PHOTOS FROM MERCEDES AND MCLAREN

2. Halo be thy name. In case you’re wondering what that weird-looking cockpit contraption is—which makes the car look like a flip-flop sandal—that’s the safety device designed to deflect debris away from the driver’s head in case of an accident. Teams have been given free rein in designing their own halos, which explains the varying styles of the device.

No more suspension tricks this time around. PHOTO FROM WILLIAMS

3. Trick suspension suspended. Active suspension systems were supposed to have been banned after the 1993 season, but teams have apparently found a way to incorporate passive systems that alter the car’s aerodynamics in real time. These are now a no-no for 2018.

Drivers now can't afford to blow up too many engines. PHOTO FROM FERRARI

4. One less motor. Only three engines per car are allowed for the entire season. Engine suppliers will now have to up their game in terms of reliability and parts longevity. Walking the fine line between performance and durability just became that little bit trickier.

Fernando Alonso will love the simpler grid penalties. PHOTO FROM MCLAREN

5. Less confusing grid penalties. Last year, the grid penalties incurred from changing engine parts racked up multiple grid-position drops, oftentimes exceeding the number of cars on the track. This year, when a driver earns a grid penalty of at least 15 places, he will automatically start from the back. Less confusing for fans—and for the folks arranging the starting grid.

Teams now have more tire choices to play with. PHOTO FROM RED BULL

6. More rubber choices. Teams now have a whopping seven options for dry-weather tire compounds, up by two from last year. In addition, all tire compounds are softer than last year’s—effectively making them the fastest tires in F1 history. Pit strategies just got more interesting.

World champion Lewis Hamilton, aided by teammate Valtteri Bottas, is still the favorite. PHOTO FROM MERCEDES

7. Ten teams, 20 drivers. Here is the full roster of teams as well as their driver pairings.

  • Mercedes – Lewis Hamilton (44); Valtteri Bottas (77)
  • Ferrari – Sebastien Vettel (5); Kimi Raikkonen (7)
  • Red Bull – Daniel Ricciardo (3); Max Verstappen (33)
  • Force India – Sergio Perez (11); Esteban Ocon (31)
  • Williams – Lance Stroll (18); Sergey Sirotkin (35)
  • Renault – Nico Hulkenberg (27); Carlos Sainz Jr. (55)
  • Toro Rosso – Pierre Gasly (10); Brendon Hartley (28)
  • Haas – Romain Grosjean (8); Kevin Magnussen (20)
  • McLaren – Fernando Alonso (14); Stoffel Vandoorne (2)
  • Sauber – Marcus Ericsson (9); Charles Leclerc (16)
Will Mercedes simply romp to the title this year? PHOTO FROM MERCEDES

8. Twenty-one races from March to November. Be sure to mark your calendar because it’s going to be a long, grueling season.

  • Australian Grand Prix – March 23-25
  • Bahrain Grand Prix – April 6-8
  • Chinese Grand Prix – April 13-15
  • Azerbaijan Grand Prix – April 27-29
  • Spanish Grand Prix – May 11-13
  • Monaco Grand Prix – May 24-27
  • Canadian Grand Prix – June 8-10
  • French Grand Prix – June 22-24
  • Austrian Grand Prix – June 29-July 1
  • British Grand Prix – July 6-8
  • German Grand Prix – July 20-22
  • Hungarian Grand Prix – July 27-29
  • Belgian Grand Prix – August 24-26
  • Italian Grand Prix – August 31-September 2
  • Singapore Grand Prix – September 14-16
  • Russian Grand Prix – September 28-30
  • Japanese Grand Prix – October 5-7
  • United States Grand Prix – October 19-21
  • Mexican Grand Prix – October 26-28
  • Brazilian Grand Prix – November 9-11
  • Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – November 23-25

Miggi Solidum

Miggi is a software engineering dude who happens to like cars a lot. And as an automotive enthusiast, he wants a platform from which he can share his motoring thoughts with fellow petrolheads.